Zombie Invasion

Zombie Survival Guide

The Bible of Survival against the Undead!!

During these dark days of winter we are reminded of our fears and worries because we have so much time to contemplate them.  If you are like me, you start to prepare yourself for the worst during this time.  My current preparation stems from my desire to be ready for a zombie attack.   Are you worried about zombies?  You should be.  Many in Texas began to worry about a zombie invasion after a street sign sent out a warning to drivers.

I often wondered how one should prepare for an outbreak of the undead.  Being the person that I am, I wanted to research every aspect of the zombie menance.  The friendly neighborhood library is chock-full of such resources.  Firstly, I would recommend anyone looking for an excellent straightforward source to go and grab a copy of The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks.  It has lists and diagrams alongside many other useful hints and tips to prepare yourself for an outbreak of the living dead.  His second book, World War Z, provides some excellent first hand account information as well.  And to help you get inside of the head (or lack thereof) of your opponent I suggest the hilarious Zombie Haiku.  I never thought a zombie could have so many different strains of thought…or were so well versed in the Japanese art of Haiku!

Besides the vast collection of books (type in the word ‘zombie’ in Encore on the main webpage and you get PAGES of items) we have an excellent movie selection to help you study the menace in action.  The most recent titles of course are George A. Romero’s Diary of the Dead and Francis Lawrence’s I am Legend.  Both present interesting ideas of how a zombie outbreak would occur.  Frankly, that is something to be studied.  How would the living dead come into existence?  Many zombie movies deal with exactly this issue.  I also recommend Land of the Dead, Night of the Living Dead,  Dawn of the Dead, and the Resident Evil movies. 

This list is by no means complete, it is merely a stepping stone for those of you who fear a zombie outburst is at hand.  And, even if you are not living in such terror, it gives you something interesting to do on a cold afternoon.

Have a lively day!

MA

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Zombie Invasion

  1. Don

    MA:

    It’s already too late! Check out this amazon title …

    Don

  2. MA

    Don,
    My goodness your right!!! That is a great title, thanks for sharing.

    :) Ma

  3. Wes

    As a puristic zombie connoisseur, I just wanted to note that I Am Legend is about vampires, not zombies. Undead, yes, but totally different otherwise. However, the original story by Richard Matheson was certainly an influence on George Romero’s Night of the Living Dead, what with the guy trapped in a house surrounded by undead monsters thing going on.

    I would add to the movies Return of the Living Dead, which is one of the greatest zombie films ever. It introduced fast, seemingly invincible brain-eating zombies to the zombie milieu. John Russo, who co-wrote Night of the Living Dead with Romero, wrote the story for RotLD.

    Lucio Fulci’s films, in particular Zombie, Gates of Hell, and The Beyond, offer an interesting interpretation of zombies. Actually, Zombie is a reinterpretation of Romero’s Dawn of the Dead.

    Romero is currently working on a movie tentatively called “…of the Dead.” I just hope it’s not as terrible as his most recent two…

  4. I’m trying to help arm the populace against the impending zombie apocalypse, but in my view it’s not a matter of weaponry but of communication using social media platforms. I recently wrote about this on my blog at http://tinyurl.com/d9gfly. I’d love for you to check it out!

Leave a comment