Tiny Books for Tiny People

About this time last year, I was celebrating my nephew’s first birthday. He’s a just few weeks away from getting two candles on his cake and there’s a little sister due to arrive any day now (I have St. Patty’s day in the due-date pool). We’re getting more into books now – at least when he isn’t ripping pages out in an effort to see what happens next – and if I have to read the books, I might as well pick some that I’ll enjoy, too.

We don’t normally feature children’s books on here (we like to leave such things to our friends over at the lovely Story Pockets blog), but for my fellow aunts and uncles out there wanting to step up their story time game, these books are ones to add to your rotation.

The Monster at the End of This Book - Spoiler alert: the monster is Grover! This is classic Sesame Street and is a nice break if the tiny person in your life is obsessed with all things Elmo (or “Melmo,” in my nephew’s case).

Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus – I want to hang out with Mo Willems.  His books are silly enough for kids, but crafted with smart puns and word-play to keep adults amused. 

Llama Llama Red Pajama - For the budding rhymer in your life. Anna Dewdney‘s books about a young Llama cover everything from first day of pre-school anxiety to toy-sharing.

Moo Baa La La La! - You can both work on your animal sounds with this book! I also dig Sandra Boynton‘s What’s Wrong Little Pookie?

Little PeaLittle Hoot, and Little Oink – Aside from adorableness, Amy Krouse Rosenthal‘s three books are a great way to introduce opposites (and/or irony). Pea has to suffer through eating his sweets before he can enjoy his vegetables; Hoot just wants to go to bed, but is expected to stay up all night; and Oink loves to keep things tidy.

- Jess, who also just realized she’s hit her one year anniversary with 11th Stack! Yay!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Tiny Books for Tiny People

  1. And we are so thrilled to have you writing for us! Next time you’re in the buidling, coffee’s on me. ;)

    Great post! “Monster” was one of my favorites as a kid.

    Leigh Anne

    • “Monster” is one of my faves, too! I love practicing my Grover voice when reading it to my niece and nephew.There is a version for iPad that my mom showed me. It has the full color illustrations, and it’s interactive. For tiny people who are into all that fancy stuff :P

  2. lizzy

    Truman’s Aunt Farm is a favorite I have bought several times over! (for us aunties)….

  3. Ooh, I’ll look for that one!
    - Jess

  4. I always have loved Virginia Lee Burton’s The Little House.

  5. The Monster At The End Of This Book – my favorite kid’s book EVER :-)

  6. Megan

    Oddly enough many of these books also have apps available that are generally fun and engaging ways to explore these stories in a slightly different way with the kiddos in your life :) Don’t Let the Pigeon Use This App is my favorite :)

Leave a Reply

