A Month in the Life of an Outreach Librarian

When I tell people that I’m a librarian, I can practically see the many stereotypical images that come to their mind in terms of what my day-to-day duties involve (and no, librarians do not get to sit around reading all day). I like to quickly dispel those stereotypes by describing all the fantastic projects that I get to be a part of thanks to my job at the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, in my role of bringing a variety of services and learning opportunities to the residents of the city.

These were just some of the things that I’ve been fortunate to have the opportunity to do this past month alone:



I know, I know – I’ve just blown your mind! So next time you meet a librarian, you may look at us with a different image in mind – not one of someone dusting off old books, but maybe with a soldering iron in hand instead!

Maria J. –  “jack of all trades” librarian


Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Month in the Life of an Outreach Librarian

  1. How do I get a job like that?!!
    (I know, grad school. I know. I just don’t want to have to go to grad school.)
    (And then, probably a little bit of luck.)

    • Our collective wisdom advice: get a clerk / LA job that does not require the degree first – see if the reality of it is a good fit for you before you take on grad school. It won’t take too long before you know for sure. :)

  2. I’m studying to become a librarian at the moment I’m so excited, your days sound amazing! :)

Leave a Reply

