Busy Busy Busy

Lately I’ve been finding it hard to fit books into my life. Reading is a huge part of my life, but at times the obligations of work, family, and other hobbies can make it tough to get through an entire book. I’ve always been the type of person to find something to read, though, and these days it’s been magazine and journal articles. Like a lot of people, when I think of the library I think of books, computers, and programs. But between our print and e-collections, we have a huge selection of popular magazines to scholarly journals that are great for when you want to read something but just don’t have the time or inclination for an entire book. Not to mention that articles are a great way to read some really quality nonfiction. Here are a few things I’ve read recently:

The Miracle of Minneapolis (by Derek Thompson, The Atlantic, 3/2015): Minneapolis is a city that often appears on those “Best Places to Live” lists (much like Pittsburgh!). It’s also home to several of my favorite musicians, making this a city that’s always intrigued me. I’m not packing up and moving there yet, but I enjoyed this article about the city.

Federer As Religious Experience (by David Foster Wallace, New York Times, 8/20/06): I loved this article by David Foster Wallace on the tennis player Roger Federer. I’m not a tennis player or even a particular fan, but this article captures what I love about some other sports: “Its power and appeal are universal. It has nothing to do with sex or cultural norms. What it seems to have to do with, really, is human beings’ reconciliation with the fact of having a body.”

Remote Control: Tonya Harding, Nancy Kerrigan, and the Spectacles of Female Power and Pain (by Sarah Marshall, The Believer, 1/2014): I was 16 when Tanya Harding hired someone to break Nancy Kerrigan’s leg, and I can only assume that everyone followed this story as closely as I did. 20 years later, I’m still reading about it.

Shame and Survival (by Monica Lewinsky, Vanity Fair, 6/2014): The Monica Lewinsky scandal was another media (and political) scandal that I couldn’t help but follow. In this article she discusses not just how the affair affected her life, but also the feminist reaction (or nonreaction) and the implications of being an ordinary person who has to deal with unwanted fame on a daily basis.

50 Cent Is My Life Coach (by Zach Barron, GQ 6/2014): It was impossible to pass up this article based on the title alone, but this one was surprisingly touching. As the author puts it: “I’d come to hold up a mirror, get 50 Cent to talk about himself, his dreams, his fears, his regrets. Except here he was—enthusiastically inquiring about my dreams, my fears, my regrets—holding up the mirror first. He did it without irony or skepticism—it wasn’t a joke to him, even if it sort of was to me.”

I’ve linked here to both the online versions and the catalog record for these magazines, but we also have a great collection of magazines in Zinio and in our databases. And the collection of print journals that we have at Main Library is extensive– stop by the desk if you need help locating something!


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Busy Busy Busy

Leave a Reply

