On a recent visit to the Squirrel Hill Library’s Children’s Department, my kids and I discovered the silkworms. Tucked into a nook by the children’s nonfiction books are a few containers filled with leaves and lots of white silkworms! Given that this is the summer that both my children have decided that they want to adopt every single worm, caterpillar, and beetle that they discover outside, we were all thrilled to discover yet another thing to love about the library. The librarian in me also appreciated the fact that next to the worms was a book suggestion. I started thinking of a creepy but great story I recently read, in which women were turned into human/silkworm hybrids and I thought how much I would love to see more displays of books that have similar themes or subjects but for different age groups. In that spirit, here are a few of my own suggestions of book pairings for children, teens, and adults.

On silkworms: The Empress and the Silkworm/Vampires in the Lemon Grove (the story Reeling For the Empire)

Books with strong heroines: Pippi Longstocking/The Hunger Games/Girls to the Front: The True Story of the Riot Grrrl Revolution

Gender: Jacob’s New Dress/Freak Show/Gender Outlaws: The Next Generation

Crafting: The Artful Parent: Simple Ways to Fill Your Family’s Life With Creativity/Go Crazy With Duct Tape/Craft-A-Day: 365 Simple  Handmade Projects

School: I Am Not Going to School Today/Prep/Never Let Me Go




Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

