How Does The Song Go?

Are you experienced?

Who are you?

Why are there so many songs about rainbows?

Will you still love me tomorrow?

How deep is your love?

What do you get when you fall in love?

Who wrote the book of love?

Who put the ram in the rama lama ding dong?

Why do people want to fill the world with silly love songs?

Where have all the flowers gone?

Whatever happened to Fay Wray?

Should I stay or should I go?

Why don’t we do it in the road?

Could you be loved?

Who can it be now?

If I were a carpenter and you were a lady, would you marry me anyway? Would you have my baby?

Who are the Brain Police?

Don’t you want somebody to love?

Oh by the way, which one’s Pink?

Why do fools fall in love?

What if God were one of us?

How will I know if he really loves me?

How many roads must a man walk down, before you call him a man?

Hello, is it me you’re looking for?

Do you really want to hurt me?

Do you believe in magic?

Will the circle be unbroken?

I want to know, have you ever seen the rain, comin’ down on a sunny day?

Does anybody really know what time it is?

Why don’t you love me like you used to do?

Miss Mousie, will you marry me?

Why can’t we be friends?

Are you lonesome tonight?

Why do you build me up, Buttercup baby, just to let me down?

Are you going to Scarborough Fair?

Are we not men?

How can you just leave me standing, alone in a world so cold?

Do you remember when we used to sing – sha la la la la la la la la la la dee dah?

Can you feel the love tonight?

Did you happen to see the most beautiful girl in the world?

What’s love got to do with it?

Do your ears hang low?

Who will buy this wonderful morning?

And it’s 1, 2, 3, what are we fighting for?

Don’t you wish your girlfriend was hot like me?

Hello, I love you; won’t you tell me your name?

Is there life on Mars?

Have you met my good friend Maria?

Can you hear the drums Fernando?

I’ll bet you think this song is about you, don’t you?

How much is that doggy in the window?

What’s new, Pussycat?

Who let the dogs out?

Is that all there is?

We can help you find the answers to all these burning questions at the Music, Film & Audio Department with our massive popular music songbook collection!

-Joelle

P. S. It’s a quiz! Try to guess the artist and song for each of the 55 questions, including the title of the post. I will post the answers separately below. Bonus points if you can guess my age based on the song list that I came up with.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “How Does The Song Go?

  1. I know almost all of these and I’m 39. I’ll guess you’re…55?

  2. Joelle

    Here are the answers. And I just turned 48!

    1. How Does The Song Go? – Grateful Dead, “Uncle John’s Band”
    2. Are you experienced? – Jimi Hendrix, “Are You Experienced”
    3. Who are you? – The Who, “Who Are You”
    4. Why are there so many songs about rainbows? – Paul Williams and Kenneth Ascher (Kermit the Frog), “Rainbow Connection”
    5. Will you still love me tomorrow? – Gerry Goffin and Carole King, “Will You Love Me Tomorrow”
    6. How deep is your love? – Bee Gees, “How Deep is Your Love”
    7. What do you get when you fall in love? – Burt Bacharach and Hal David, “I’ll Never Fall in Love Again”
    8. Who wrote the book of love? The Monotones, “The book of love”
    9. Who put the ram in the in the rama lama ding dong? – Gerry Goffin and Barry Mann, “Who Put the Bomp (in the Bomp, Bomp, Bomp)”
    10. Why do people want to fill the world with silly love songs? – Paul McCartney and Wings, “Silly Love Songs”
    11. Where have all the flowers gone? – Pete Seeger, “Where Have All the Flowers Gone”
    12. Whatever happened to Fay Wray? – Richard O’Brien (from the Rocky Horror Picture Show), “Don’t Dream It, Be It”
    13. Should I stay or should I go? – The Clash, “Should I Stay or Should I Go”
    14. Why don’t we do it in the road? – Beatles, “Why Don’t We Do It in the Road”
    15. Could you be loved? – Bob Marley, “Could You Be Loved”
    16. Who can it be now? – Men at Work, “Who Can It Be Now”
    17. If I were a carpenter and you were a lady, would you marry me anyway? Would you have my baby? – Johnny Cash, “If I Were a Carpenter”
    18. Who are the Brain Police? – Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention, “Who are the Brain Police”
    19. Don’t you want somebody to love? – Jefferson Airplane, “Somebody to Love”
    20. Oh by the way, which one’s Pink? – Pink Floyd, “Have a Cigar”
    21. Why do fools fall in love? – Frankie Lymon and the Teenagers, “Why Do Fools Fall in Love”
    22. What if God was one of us? – Eric Bazilian (Alanis Morissette), “What if God Was One of Us”
    23. How will I know if he really loves me? – Whitney Houston, “How Will I Know”
    24. How many roads must a man walk down, before you call him a man? – Bob Dylan, “Blowin’ in the Wind”
    25. Hello, is it me you’re looking for? – Lionel Richie, “Hello”
    26. Do you really want to hurt me? – Culture Club, “Do You Really Want to Hurt Me”
    27. Do you believe in magic? – The Lovin’ Spoonful , “Do You Believe in Magic”
    28. Will the circle be unbroken? – Ada R. Habershon and Charles H. Gabriel (1907), “Will the Circle be Unbroken”
    29. I want to know, have you ever seen the rain, comin’ down on a sunny day? – Creedence Clearwater Revival, “Have You Ever Seen the Rain”
    30. Does anybody really know what time it is? – Chicago, “Does Anybody Really Know What Time it is”
    31. Why don’t you love me like you used to do? – Hank Williams, “Why Don’t You Love Me”
    32. Miss Mousie, will you marry me? – “Frog Went A-Courtin’” (First appearance – 1548)
    33. Why can’t we be friends? – War, “Why Can’t We Be Friends”
    34. Are you lonesome tonight? – Lou Handman and Roy Turk (Elvis Presley), “Are You Lonesome Tonight”
    35. Why do you build me up, Buttercup baby, just to let me down? – The Foundations, “Build Me Up Buttercup”
    36. Are you going to Scarborough Fair? – “Scarborough Fair” (First appearance – 1670?)
    37. Are we not men? – Devo, “Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!”
    38. How can you just leave me standing, alone in a world so cold? – Prince, “When Doves Cry”
    39. Do you remember when we used to sing – sha la la la la la la la la la la dee dah? – Van Morrison, “Brown Eyed Girl”
    40. Can you feel the love tonight? – Elton John (from the Lion King), “Can You Feel the Love Tonight”
    41. Did you happen to see the most beautiful girl in the world? – Charlie Rich, “The Most Beautiful Girl”
    42. What’s love got to do with it? – Tina Turner, “What’s Love Got to do With it”
    43. Do your ears hang low? – “Do Your Ears Hang Low”
    44. Who will buy this wonderful morning? – Lionel Bart (from Oliver!), “Who Will Buy”
    45. And it’s 1, 2, 3, what are we fighting for? – Country Joe and the Fish, “I Feel Like I’m Fixin’ to Die Rag”
    46. Don’t you wish your girlfriend was hot like me? – Pussycat Dolls, “Don’t Cha”
    47. Hello, I love you; won’t you tell me your name? – The Doors, “Hello, I Love You”
    48. Is there life on Mars? – David Bowie, “Life on Mars”
    49. Have you met my good friend Maria? Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim (from West Side Story), “I Feel Pretty”
    50. Can you hear the drums Fernando? – Abba, “Fernando”
    51. I’ll bet you think this song is about you, don’t you? – Carly Simon, “You’re So Vain”
    52. How much is that doggy in the window? – Bob Merrill (Patti Page), “(How Much is) That Doggie in the Window”
    53. What’s new Pussycat? – Tom Jones, “What’s New Pussycat”
    54. Who let the dogs out? – Baha Men, “Who Let the Dogs Out”
    55. Is that all there is? – Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller (Peggy Lee), “Is That All There Is”

Leave a Reply

