Re-Reading Dune

Dune_cover  Like the swallows’ annual return to Capistrano, it must be time for me to read Frank Herbert’s Dune again.  This time around I am reading the ePub version.  Once I am done I just may move on to read one or more of the much maligned Brian Herbert prequel novels.  I’ve heard and read bad things about them.  Anyone care to chime in with something positive about them?  I am drawn to the Butlerian Jihad because I find human computer concept of Mentats very interesting.  I can be sold on these if anyone is willing to try!

Meanwhile, NoveList counts Ursula K. Le Guin as a possible read-alike for Dune.  I confess that the novella “Nine Lives” is the only Le Guin I have read.  You can find that story here.  Would she be a good follow-up to try after polishing off Dune sometime in the next week or so?  Dune‘s tone is tough to match.  It feels like hard sci-fi, but it possesses hazy borders that allow in all sorts of fantastic stuff like mental powers, transformational mutations, and the fulfillment of Paul’s terrible purpose.  If this post moves you to share an author whose work flows along the same wave lengths as Mr. Herbert’s, I’ll be much obliged!



Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Re-Reading Dune

  1. Katherine C. Mead-Brewer

    I don’t think the tone or voice is the same at all, but if you like Dune and any Le Guin at all, you’re likely to really like Dan Simmons’ Ilium, if you haven’t already given it a spin

  2. carmenaidacreates

    Not only one of my most favorite books, it is also only one of a handful of books that I actually liked the movie, too.

  3. lizzy

    If you’re reading Le Guin, go for Left Hand of Darkness. As for the genre, I absolutely recommend The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell. Rose right up to be in my top 5.

  4. Thanks, folks! Much appreciated!

  5. e

    Check out The Dispossessed by LeGuin! This post has inspired me to re-read both! Well done, well done!

  6. I also loved Left Hand of Darkness – it’s definitely worth a read. I have yet to build up the courage to read Brian Herbert’s prequels. It would be awful if the don’t compare well to the original story.

  7. As a huge of both Herbert and Le Guin, I feel I can comment here… Le Guin’s Earthsea cycle and “Lathe of Heaven” (in addition to “Left Hand” as recommended) are a good intro to her work. I myself have read many of the Brian Herbert/Kevin Anderson books – and I would say as long as you don’t read them right after the originals (and compare the styles), they are a welcome immersion in the world of Dune – with all the background detail and intrigue of the big forces at work (Harkonnen/Atreides/Bene Gesserit/Corrin, etc.) you’d ever need to satisfy those of us who fell in love with the world Frank Herbert created.

  8. I wouldn’t know what to suggest without knowing whether you’re a fan of the latter part of the Dune series. If you like the way that the series moves through time, you might like the Foundation by Asimov. Its a wonderful series that follows the development of a society and its world/politics, and the best part is that it masquerades as Hard Sci Fi!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s