A Resolution to Tie Up Loose Ends

Every year, I always come up with New Year’s resolutions and goals for myself. As I was thinking about it this week, I realized that, for the very first time, I couldn’t think of anything new to accomplish in the new year that I wasn’t already doing. This is unusual for me as I always think of new ways to improve my life, my health, and my bank account.

In past years, I’ve made resolutions to eat better; now I’m vegan. Or to live with less; check. To exercise daily; double check. To save more money; triple check.

But there is something that’s really important and something that only someone who is practical (and getting older!) like myself would think about: making arrangements with an attorney to set up a revocable living trust, a durable power of attorney for health care,  and a financial power of attorney. This is something I’ve been meaning to do for a very long time and, since this is a lean year for resolutions anyway, this one seems easily achievable.

Here are a few very helpful books I’m consulting:


Protect and Enhance Your Estate: Definitive Strategies for Estate and Wealth Planning by Robert Esperti


Living Trusts for Everyone: Why a Will is Not the Way to Avoid Probate, Protect Heirs, and Settle Estates by Ronald Sharp


Suze Orman’s The Ultimate Protection Portfolio by Suze Orman

How about you? Resolutions, anyone?

~Maria, who wishes everyone a very happy and healthy 2013!


Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Resolution to Tie Up Loose Ends

  1. I like the idea of New Year’s resolutions, but I’ve never really been able to stick to them so I don’t really bother anymore.

  2. Emilia

    Hi, Maria! I’m a new vegan and I work in Oakland. Where are your favorite places in Oakland to grab a vegan lunch? Thanks and happy new year! :)

Leave a Reply

