Song Of Ice And Fire Read-Alikes?

I am just finishing up A Game Of Thrones, the first installment in George R. R. Martin’s epic Song of Ice and Fire fantasy series.

Next up will be A Clash Of Kings, followed by A Storm Of Swords, then A Feast For Crows.   The long-awaited  A Dance With Dragons provides the latest installment in the series.

I am late to the party, I know, but having read and heard so much about these stories, I was still unprepared for how thoroughly sucked in I would become.  Mr. Martin’s unique style allows the reader a laser-focus on his characters, and he masterfully juggles ten or more principal protagonists while weaving their personal stories into the the larger pattern of his tale.  Although Song of Ice and Fire bears the trappings of fantasy, it definitely qualifies as low-magic, humanistic, and gritty.  No fireball-hurling wizards, elves, or Hobbits exist in the lands of Westeros where the action takes place.   Elements of the supernatural do exist, but they’re used sparingly.

The real drivers of the action are intrigue, clannish conflict, and the very setting of Westeros itself, where winters can last for years at a time, and the wild lands hide dark and looming threats.

Serial fantasy this good has garnered Mr. Martin great fame and many fans, but what are those fans to do once they’ve finished the most current book?  Our own Novelist database can provide at least some guidance where Westeros fans might go while waiting for the next novel.  A quick trip over to Novelist garnered a number of recommendations for wayward Westeros fans.

Glen Cook’s Black Company offers some of the same gritty fantasy that Martin fans have come to love.  David Farland’s Runelords series also makes Novelist’s recommended list.

One series not mentioned by Novelist, but still worthy of consideration by fans of Mr. Martin, is Katherine Kurtz’s Deryni fantasy.  This series of books began more than thirty years ago, and features a lot more overt magic and supernatural elements than Mr. Martin’s stuff, but shares his penchant for courtly intrigue, scheming characters, and quasi-Medieval settings.

If you have any more Song of Ice and Fire read-alikes, I’d sure love to hear about them!

–Scott

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Song Of Ice And Fire Read-Alikes?

  1. Irene

    Excellent! I just finished A Game of Thrones a couple of days ago and I’m totally sucked into this series now. The nice thing about being late to this party is not having to wait for the next book to be published! (Until we get to book 5, I guess…)

  2. I’m late to the party too–I’ve had A Game of Thrones on my “wish list” for a long time and hope to read them soon! Normally I’m not a huge fan of fantasy novels, but a friend recommended I read The Name of the Wind as well, which is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicles trilogy, and I LOVED it! It’s fantasy, with some magic and mythical elements, but has enough parallels to the real world that it doesn’t feel too far from the truth in parts. A must read!

  3. Scott

    Awesome! I will have to give those Kingkiller books a look after I finish the first Song of Ice And Fire book this week.

  4. Don

    I was last not at 3 am reading and reading. I’m 400 pages into Game of Thrones and as Irene said, nice not to have to wait for the next one. Because I am heading right for it when I finish this.

    Don

  5. lizzy

    Hah! You all said ‘no waiting’ but there are over 200 holds on the title!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s