Too Many Nelsons

I’m not sure how it happened, but one afternoon I found myself staring at our catalog and wondering why there were so many Nelsons in it. Here are a few examples for you.

Nelson Algren – He’s the author of The Man With the Golden Arm. When I was a younger Amy, I always got this one confused with The Man With the Golden Gun. Please forgive me.
 

Manly Adventure awaits you!

Nelson DeMille – He’s the author of pretty much everything. He specializes in what I like to call “manly adventure.” One of his books, The General’s Daughter, was made into a movie starring John Travolta. I’m not sure how I feel about that. 

Nelson Mandela – Activist, former President of South Africa, looks a hell of a lot like Morgan Freeman. I knew that he was pretty old, but I didn’t realize (until I started writing this post) that he was born in the year that WW1 ended. Wow.
 
Nelson Muntz – Appears on The Simpsons, notable for his blue vest and distinctive laugh. Sometimes friends with Bart, sometimes dates Lisa.
 
Baby Face Nelson – Portrayed by Stephen Graham in the 2009 film Public Enemies, or as I like to call it, “The Movie in Which Christian Bale Wears the Most Unattractive Pants Ever.” I know that doesn’t teach you much about Baby Face Nelson, but this is my blog post and I’d rather talk about Christian Bale’s horrible pants.
 

What we really need is a paranormal historical girl cat detective.

Carole Nelson Douglas – I’ve never read her stuff, but apparently she writes about paranormal investigators, mystery solving cats, and historic girl detectives? Something for everyone, I guess. 

Horatio Nelson – Had one arm and one eye, died in the Battle of Trafalgar, played on boats, Brits like him. Pip pip cheerio.
 
Prince (Rogers Nelson) – Yes, Prince is his first name. And yes, I’m glad that we’re finally past the year 1999. And yes, that song is stuck in my head now.
 
Willie Nelson – Notable for both his braids and his tax troubles, and a rather prolific musician, too. He has also been spotted with Kermit the Frog.
 
I know there are many other Nelsons that I’ve neglected, so fee free to add your favorites in the comments!
 
– Amy

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Too Many Nelsons

  1. Tara

    Quite possibly the most important Nelson(s) of all?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nelson_(band)

  2. Mary Jean Phillips

    There is also Michael J. Nelson, a writer and performer for Mystery Science Theater 3000 and the delightful Riff Trax!

  3. chaparroc

    When I lived in Colombia in the 1970s, Nelson Ned was all the rage as a singer. Listen to him on youtube.

  4. Don’t forget movie singer baritone Nelson Eddy, who starred with Jeanette MacDonald in the 1930s & 1940s MGM operettas!

  5. MJ

    Cliff and Clair Huxtable’s grandbabies–Winnie and Nelson

  6. Bonnie

    The internet is failing me. I can’t find any pictures of Christian Bale’s bothersome pants. But for a Babyface Nelson without anybody’s bothersome pants (and with George Clooney) try “O Brother Where Art Thou.”

    Other interesting Nelsons in our catalog:
    Nelson, comic book artist
    Nelson Associates, who wrote about the organization of CLP
    The Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, which has published some really cool art books

    • I can’t find a picture either…but it’s the scene in the beginning of the movie where Purvis is chasing Pretty Boy Floyd through the orchard.

      And thank you for the bonus Nelsons!

      – Amy

  7. Rebekah

    Love the wish to talk about Christian Bale’s pants! Here are a few other Nelsons:
    Judd Nelson, of “Brat Pack” fame
    Charles Nelson Reilly, comedian and actor, regular on Match Game and Hollywood Squares (side note… attended my alma mater, the Hartt School of Music)
    Nelson Rockefeller, former U.S. Vice President
    Nelson Dion-Angelil, Celine’s son (ok, famous only becuase his mom is!)

  8. Pingback: Manly Adventure Awaits You! | Eleventh Stack

Leave a Reply

