Daily Archives: May 18, 2011

Too Many Nelsons

I’m not sure how it happened, but one afternoon I found myself staring at our catalog and wondering why there were so many Nelsons in it. Here are a few examples for you.

Nelson Algren – He’s the author of The Man With the Golden Arm. When I was a younger Amy, I always got this one confused with The Man With the Golden Gun. Please forgive me.
 

Manly Adventure awaits you!

Nelson DeMille – He’s the author of pretty much everything. He specializes in what I like to call “manly adventure.” One of his books, The General’s Daughter, was made into a movie starring John Travolta. I’m not sure how I feel about that. 

Nelson Mandela - Activist, former President of South Africa, looks a hell of a lot like Morgan Freeman. I knew that he was pretty old, but I didn’t realize (until I started writing this post) that he was born in the year that WW1 ended. Wow.
 
Nelson Muntz – Appears on The Simpsons, notable for his blue vest and distinctive laugh. Sometimes friends with Bart, sometimes dates Lisa.
 
Baby Face Nelson – Portrayed by Stephen Graham in the 2009 film Public Enemies, or as I like to call it, “The Movie in Which Christian Bale Wears the Most Unattractive Pants Ever.” I know that doesn’t teach you much about Baby Face Nelson, but this is my blog post and I’d rather talk about Christian Bale’s horrible pants.
 

What we really need is a paranormal historical girl cat detective.

Carole Nelson Douglas - I’ve never read her stuff, but apparently she writes about paranormal investigators, mystery solving cats, and historic girl detectives? Something for everyone, I guess. 

Horatio Nelson - Had one arm and one eye, died in the Battle of Trafalgar, played on boats, Brits like him. Pip pip cheerio.
 
Prince (Rogers Nelson) – Yes, Prince is his first name. And yes, I’m glad that we’re finally past the year 1999. And yes, that song is stuck in my head now.
 
Willie Nelson - Notable for both his braids and his tax troubles, and a rather prolific musician, too. He has also been spotted with Kermit the Frog.
 
I know there are many other Nelsons that I’ve neglected, so fee free to add your favorites in the comments!
 
- Amy

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized