Daily Archives: April 25, 2008

Cupcakes Are a Girl’s (or Your) Best Friend

If I had to choose, a cupcake would indeed be my best friend.  I’d take one (or two or three) over a diamond any day. They are little, cute and oh so delicious.  Capturing everything a cake should and wants to be by existing as the perfect individual size portion, ensuring an adequate amount of icing is enjoyed with every bite and never requiring the use of utensils. 

Cupcakes are utterly indiscriminate. They have become highly evolved baked goods by making themselves available in vegan, sugar-free, gluten-free and organic varieties (just to name a few).  Best of all, unlike cake, cupcakes do not require a special occasion to be eaten and therefore do not make you feel guilty when you accidentally have one for breakfast.  Skeptics of the cupcake revolution might identify the recent cupcake craze as a fad, but hard evidence exists that cupcakes are awesome.  Try one of these maps to locate your closest cupcake establishment.

Bakers and explorers of culinary endeavors can also benefit from the joys of cupcakes, because the next best thing to eating cupcakes is making and sharing them. The library has a nice selection of cookbooks to help you in your cupcake making adventure.  By no means do I consider myself a cupcake making professional, however I’ve had a lot of success using Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and have managed to amaze (some might say trick) dairy fanatic friends and family every time. 

And some good news!  New cupcake books are being added to the collection all the time.  A few years ago when I was visiting Washington D.C., I had the pleasure of enjoying a cupcake so good I wanted to cry.  Thankfully, the host of Food Network’s Sugar Rush and owner of Love Café, Warren Brown has disclosed these recipes.  I’ve never made cupcakes from these cookbooks, but I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.  Get inspired with; Hello, Cupcake!, Little Cakes from the Whimsical Bakehouse, Bake Me I’m Yours – Cupcake and The Cupcake Cafe Cookbook.

Whatever your taste or preference, cupcakes are simply scrumptious.

– Lisa

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized