What to do in the off season

You know you’ve been wondering what to do until football season starts … now you have it. 

One of the many treasures you’ll find among our craft books is:  ……………………………………………………………………………………
Rosey Grier's Needlepoint for MenRosey Grier's Needlepoint for Men, Back Cover

………………………………………………………………………………………………
Rosey says it all on the back cover:

“Rosey Grier, immortalized in needlepoint – and by my own hands to boot! If anyone would have told me that I would go from football to needlepoint, I would have laughed in their face. In fact, the whole thing started as a joke, but it’s turned into one of the most enjoyable and satisfying things I’ve ever done. I try to turn other guys on to needlepoint wherever I go – from the dude sitting next to me on a plane to the guy working behind the scenes on a movie set. ‘Smile all you want,’ I tell them, ‘but if you try it once, you’ll keep on coming back for more’, and that’s the truth brother.”

I’m convinced, are you?

-Kaarin

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “What to do in the off season

  1. Rebekah

    I love it! I wonder if any player for the Steelers does needlework? We’ll have to take a look at those towels hanging from their uniforms. They may be their own handiwork!

  2. Don

    I have to tell you that Rosey Grier played football for the high school in my hometown, Roselle, NJ. He used to come back regularly. Once, when I was in high school, I went down to the local playground for a pick-up game of basketball and there was Rosey Grier.

    I had never seen anyone so remotely huge. I just kept looking up and up (and around and around). He was a like a mountain. And a very nice, unassuming guy.

    In the little known facts department, besides needlepoint, Rosey Grier also served as a bodyguard for Robert Kennedy and was the man who disarmed Sirhan Sirhan and restrained him after the assassination.

    Don

  3. Tim

    Rosey Grier also sang “It’s All Right to Cry” on the Free to Be You and Me album from the early 70s. What a great guy.

Leave a Reply

