Daily Archives: October 21, 2009

…the letter that is written remains.

Letters and notes continue to fascinate me even though the ubiquitous e-mail has largely supplanted them.  While electronic communication can’t be surpassed for its efficiency and practicality, letters to me endear and endure.   Our holdings suggest that others share my fondness for a media that can be stashed away and then later retrieved for a slow summoning of a special time or event.   CLP’s collection of letters and letter writing, dating from 1892, include not only explanations of how to write but also documents that are moving in their attempts to amuse, teach, or simply chronicle everyday life.    Naturally, those I find most enlightening reflect one or two of my historical or literary interests.

–Gwendolyn

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized