TMI about TMJ

Somehow I wasn’t surprised to have a flare-up of TMJ (Temporomandibular Joint Dysfunction) this month – I just spent $600 on car repairs, the library is in a financial crisis, my dad just had back surgery, the G-20 is coming to town, and so on and so on.

Roomic Cubes photograph, via Flickr Creative Commons license.

This is not my head.

But what exactly is TMJ? Basically, it’s jaw, neck, ear, and/or tooth pain caused by a variety of issues – anything from an injury to bad posture to (in my case) stress. It doesn’t sound fun, does it? Well believe me, it’s not. Ouch. 

For the official word on TMJ you can’t do much better than checking Medline Plus. It’s a free service provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health that collects articles from a variety of trusted sources – for example, their information about TMJ comes from the Academy of General Dentistry, the National Pain Foundation, and the ever popular Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research. Who says there isn’t reliable free information on the internet?

If you prefer to do your  reading offline, you can do a subject search in our catalog for “temporomandibular joint,” which will give you all sorts of books to look through - everything from simple overviews to exercises to complicated and scary government documents.

As for me, my car is running nicely, RAD is helping the library (though we’re not out of the woods yet), my dad is doing well enough to help me remodel my bathroom, and the G-20 will only be here for two days, after all.

So with a little ibuprofen, a heating pad, some relaxation, and a top notch collection of library resources, I’m already on the mend.

- Amy

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

