books beyond the ages

Every once in a while, I get to work at the desk in our amazing Teen Department here at the Main library. While I enjoy the energy of our teen customers and the creative atmosphere of the department, especially their stacks murals

 img_00641

the best part is that I always leave with a stack of books to read! Here are some of my favorites:

  • Boy Meets Boy, by David Levithan: A simple love story that takes place in a high school where the star quarterback is also the prom queen.
  • Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging, by Louise Rennison: With a title like that, you know it’s got to be good! This one is in my too-much-fun-to-be-missed category. Start with the glossary in the back of the book. Later on in the series, there’s a scene involving false eyelashes that made me laugh so hard I cried.
  • The Wee Free Men, by Terry Pratchett: Funny and wise, raucus little blue men; a girl who must discover the power within. A winning combination.
  • Eva, by Peter Dickinson: I read this many years ago, but it still sticks with me. I love any science fiction that asks what it means to be human.

Fortunately, I’m not alone in my love of teen books. My colleagues shared the following with me, adding to my list of must-reads!

If you’re an adult who won’t read “young adult” books because you think you outgrew them long ago, I beg you to reconsider! You could read a favorite “adult” author’s contribution to the teen bookshelves. Isabel Allende, James Patterson, and Sherman Alexie have all written books for teens. Or you can join the rest of Allegheny County for the One Book, One Community program in April to read The Giver, by Lois Lowry. Just try one! There’s no shame in it!  After all, we’re all human.

-Kaarin

p.s. While I’m recommending books written for younger age groups, I must throw in two childrens’ titles I read recently:

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “books beyond the ages

  1. I loved the previews you included here. I will be checking these out and sharing with my grade eight students.

Leave a Reply

